Fine Motor & Art without frustration - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-04-2012, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi All (blah! sorry this got long!)

This is my first post over in this area. My oldest child is 3.5 and I have been doing lots of research to get us started on our homeschool path. Since we are in AK and need to keep our trips outside shorter in winter, I am hoping to do a lot of art. I have no experience with paper-paint-and glue type kids art and I have absolutely no idea how to guide my son. My biggest goal for him is to avoid frustration but I want him to be able to benefit from the experience. 

So far, we do wet-on-wet water color painting in a single, solid primary color. He chooses his color every day, I mix the paint and set up his work space and he paints until the the paper is completely covered edge to edge. He seems very happy with his paintings so I haven't even moved on to color mixing/color wheel yet. At some point I plan to do that and then make solid color paintings in secondary colors. We have some beeswax crayons both block and stick. he will color occasionally but does not often seem happy with his work. Sometimes he will just grab a pen and scrap paper and 'draws' a story (totally totally unrecognizable scribbles) and tells me about it - that he does seem pleased with. 

So, in your experience, is this just typical for 3.5? Should I be looking for or waiting for a developmental jump? He scribbles all over coloring pages and asking him to color inside lines would be well beyond his frustration-capacity (not that I would or have asked him to do that) Do you have any ideas for 'projects' I could work with him? Or should I just let him be for a while?