Math learning - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 01-09-2012, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a 5yr old who is very active. He reads at a 4th grade level and we have started doing unit studies.  I was a former English teacher so math is not my thing.  Can anyone recommend some good ways/curriculum for teaching math in a hands-on and interactive way?  I don't want lots of worksheets/workbooks.  Thanks!!

Happy homeschooling homeschool.gif, cosleeping fambedsingle2.gif, babywearing femalesling2.GIFmama to DS 3/06 superhero.gif, DS 12/10 jog.gif,  and wife to DH hug.gif.

blogging.jpg   nocirc.gifcd.gif 

#2 of 8 Old 01-09-2012, 12:27 PM

Location: In the middle of nowhere, at the centre of everything.
Quoted: 68 Post(s)

Miquon Math might be a good fit. It is very hands-on, with the foundation of the program being "discovery-oriented math lab" activities. It is fairly advanced conceptually, and introduces all four operations in a basic way within the first "year" (i.e. the first two books). There are workbooks, but they're really a place for exploration and symbolic representation of things learned through manipulatives. Definitely not pages of drill and practice. 

Miquon is inexpensive: about $100-120 for basic manipulatives and all the books you'd need for K-4 math. It's old, so you can often find it used.

The one drawback Miquon is that it's a little chaotic and requires some parental background reading to appropriately administer. It's not a scripted, day-by-day program where mom just turns the pages and does what she's told. The parent really has to understand the program's philosophy, conceptual approach and terminology. Personally I think that's actually a hidden advantage: as a parent you end up understanding this very basic math in a much deeper way as a result of this effort.