Math help for 7 year old - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 02-23-2012, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I need help! This is my first year hs my 7 year old dd.  She has traumatic brain injury which has affected her memory.  We have had a good year so far except where math is concerned.  I have her do math every day to help retain memory.  Most days she forgets how to count and what comes before or after another number.  One thing she has trouble with is when her assignments ask what comes before 143 for instance.  She can't remember. This turns into a screaming fit everyday.  She does good with addition and subtraction.  I've been looking for an app or something to help and I can't seem to find anything.  I'm thinking of just saying to heck with the workbooks. Anyone dealing with similar situation and have advice?  I would be so thankful orngbiggrin.gif

Eating is an agricultural act.  -Wendell Berry

#2 of 7 Old 02-23-2012, 01:14 PM

I don't have similar experience, but what popped into my head was printing out the numbers (I'm not sure if I'd do 0-9, 1-10, or 0-10... maybe the latter) in a fairly large size and then hanging them, in order, on the wall.

Because most elementary classrooms do this with the alphabet - I have firsthand memories of using this reference in first grade to help me remember whether H came before or after I or whatever.

I would be thinking about the parts of her brain function that have not been impaired - for example, is her memory of things she SEES better, or her memory of things she HEARS? And then try to provide support that plays on her strengths.