Urgent Advice Needed! Kid Out of School. Homeschool? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-05-2012, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

The short story is that my kids are unvaccinated and there's been an outbreak of chicken pox at their school and my kids can't be back in school until 16 days after the last reported case.  The first case occurred on February 18th, and now they can't go back to school until March 19th at the earliest.  Their absence as been extended twice already, so it's not unlikely that it will be extended even more.

I guess I am worried because I need to prove that they've learned something during that time.  I am fearful that they may not pass the year due to absences alone.  I have been unofficially homeschooling them since they've been out of school. I have an education degree, so it's fun for me LOL  Should I file an intent to homeschool so it's official that they are receiving instruction?  Or should I create a portfolio of the work they've done and hope the school system approves?

Normally I wouldn't worry about such things, but we are playing by the school's rules, not our own.  Any advice?

Wife to DH and mama to DD(7) blahblah.gifand DD(5) moon.gif...Lola the Wiener Dog dog2.gif, Faulkner the Little Giant dog2.gif, Ginger the Wonder Cat cat.gif,  Azkaban the blue parakeet, Sunny the yellow parakeet, 3 nameless hermit crabs, and a whole bunch of fish!

#2 of 7 Old 03-05-2012, 08:22 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)