Earthschooling or OM or??? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 03-31-2012, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone. I am new here but not totally new to homeschooling. My kids are almost 4 and almost 5. I am really drawn to the Waldorf approach...except for the delayed learning aspect. I know, that is a key componant to it. My thought is to use Earthschooling (Bearth Institute) K as a core for both kids and supplement LA with Queens Lang. Lessons (we use it now and love it), Math with Life Of Fred and ???, and science with Elemental Science or Queens Nature Study Seried. Am I absolutely crazy? My only other plan is to go with Oak Meadow and still supplement math and LA, but not the science.

DS, who will be 5, is self taught for the most part in reading. He is reading cvc and cvcc words with ease and is racing through K math and is writing ok. I actually want to slow him down a little. His idea of fun is writing his own math problems on the dry erase board. DD, almost 4 is really just where most of her peers are, although her fine motor skills are a bit behind.

Thoughts or suggestions would be super helpful.
#2 of 9 Old 04-02-2012, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter

No one?
#3 of 9 Old 04-03-2012, 08:26 AM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)

I'll try, but I don't have experience with the curriculums you mentioned.  

It sounds like your little guy already has an idea of what he wants to do.  In some ways, letting him go at a pace he enjoys would be great, though I have met little kids who would sit and do school work with their moms for hours and at some point it does become a question of balance more than anything.  Why do you want to slow him down?