Question for those of you who have a set of encyclopedia... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 06-12-2012, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

did you also keep the year books and science annuals? I have a set of World Books from 1989, I think, and there are also almost as many year books. I don't have the space for just the original set and my husband thinks I'm crazy for keeping those...

Just wondering if anyone has dealt with this. BTW, my children are small and still non-readers.

#2 of 7 Old 06-13-2012, 08:34 PM
AAK

Quoted: 12 Post(s)

I wouldn't keep any of it to be honest.  Why do you feel like keeping them?

Amy

Mom to three very active girls Anna (14), Kayla (11), Maya (8). 
#3 of 7 Old 06-14-2012, 04:46 PM

Um, I was raised in a poor family and the encyclopedia set that got me through public school was from 1969.. I graduated with honors in 2000. A lot of it will be irrelevant but it could be interesting. Do you plan to use encyclopedias? Could you use the current set at the library?

And I promise if your children are like me, it is fascinating just to read through. I particularly liked the spider article even though I have a fear of that. I don't plan to have a set for my children as we have internet access but if you feel your family needs it and you could potentially make room for it (book shelves in the hall worked for us) then I say go for it.

intactivist.gifwinner.jpg fambedsingle2.gif  learning.gif homeschool.gif buddamomimg1.png gd.gif delayedvax.gif selectivevax.gif  supermod.gif (Yeah right)

angel3.gif loss 2/28/03           photosmile2.gif  ds 1/5/08             asl.gif dd 2/8/10

When we know better, we do better. ~Maya Angelou 

#4 of 7 Old 06-14-2012, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter