Can homeschooling be successful if both parents work full time? - Mothering Forums

Thread Tools
#1 of 4 Old 06-19-2012, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
pattimomma's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

To clarify- I am thinking about teenagers, middle school / high school, not elementary. Evenings? Weekends? Has anyone tried it? What worked? What didn't work?

~Patti~ rainbow1284.gifMomma to three girls and three boys chicken3.gif, First mother to one girl triadadopt.jpg

Certified, card carrying member of the IEP Binder Clubkid.gif  

pattimomma is offline  
Sponsored Links
#2 of 4 Old 06-19-2012, 08:56 PM
ALittleBitCrunchy's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hogwarts library
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We've done it and it was fine. Very, very scheduled...but fine ;)  I always tell people that school can happen anytime, not just 9:00-3:00 Monday-Friday. We've done evenings, weekends, mornings...whatever worked around our schedules.

WOHM to DS11 and DD9, both T1Ds

ALittleBitCrunchy is offline  
#3 of 4 Old 06-21-2012, 07:05 AM
Luckiestgirl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

No personal experience here, but I would say it depends on whether useful adults will be available to the kids during the hours that you are working.  Will they be staying home alone?  If so, will they have easy access to the library, public transportation, museums, etc.? 


If you haven't already done so, you might check out Grace Llewellyn's The Teenage Liberation Handbook, which covers home learning for teens, and some unconventional forms it can take.


I know that in some cases where the parents work full-time, it can be useful to use a program like Clonlara to help document teens' learning, if going to college later is a consideration.

Luckiestgirl is offline  
#4 of 4 Old 06-21-2012, 08:40 AM
zebra15's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: State of Confusion
Posts: 5,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)

I've been doing this since DS was age 5. I'm a single parent so I take on both roles.  I work outside the home as well.  He will be 12 this school year and just finished up Jr High.  DS was home alone last year while I went to work.  He was able to do his schooling while I was gone then during the evening we reviewed what he needed help with.  I must say, DS has been trained in a way to be very independent and self sufficient.  He's been doing his own school work from the beginning at the sitters while I've been at work.  He has been taking online STEM classes for the past couple years.

I also spend weekends doing enrichment type activities (field trips, science projects, etc).  There is a HUGE life/work balance for ME and there is a huge time management balance for both of us but I wouldn't trade the set up for anything.

Mom to J and never-ending , 0/2014 items decluttered, 0/52 crafts crafts completed  crochetsmilie.gif homeschool.gif  reading.gif  modifiedartist.gif

Seeking zen in 2014.  Working on journaling and finding peace this year.  Spending my free time taking J to swimteam

zebra15 is online now  


User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Online Users: 16,321

103 members and 16,218 guests
AlaskAnne , alicenwonderlan , allirue , AMG , apeydef , azohri , bananabee , beedub , bluefaery , boater , Brittee , Carolyn_mtl , chickabiddy , contactmaya , Crimson8 , Daffodil , Dakotacakes , Danielleyc203 , Deborah , emmy526 , esg , Evelynflower , farmermomma , floss&ferd , frugalmama , goldenwillow , greenemami , heatheresc , htovjm , Incubator , japonica , Jenn27 , K703 , kathymuggle , larali , lauren , lc81002 , lilgreen , LiLStar , Linda on the move , loba , lolo77 , mama24-7 , mamabear0314 , Mansell , Mathemom , MCatLvrMom2A&X , mckittre , MDoc , MeepyCat , Milk8shake , Mirzam , moominmamma , MotherNurture4 , MountainMamaGC , MulberryMom , Mummoth , Mylie , MylittleTiger , mymuzicalpath , Nadezda Shnuchkina , newmamalizzy , Nightwish , oaksie68 , polkafizz , Purple*Lotus , Ratchet , RollerCoasterMama , rubelin , samaxtics , SandiMae , sarafl , shantimama , Shmootzi , shoeg8rl , sidrajedi , sillysapling , Soseraphina , splath , Springshowers , sren , stardogs , StarJune , Teles , terraka , Tigerle , zebra15
Most users ever online was 449,755, 06-25-2014 at 01:21 PM.