How do you decided what to teach? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 08-23-2012, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We are beginning K (and preK too, unofficially) this year and I am a rookie homeschooler.

We are in Maryland and have required subjects to teach (and show in our portfolio reviews.) I purchased materials for English (reading & language arts) and math.

But I did not purchase anything for science, social studies, music, art, or health.
I know my kids learn things day-to-day just living and being curious kids but I need to prove "regular and thorough instruction" according to MD state laws.
And I actually WANT to teach them lots of wonderful things.

I feel like that's a lot of subjects to figure out all on my own, all year long. Starting to feel a little nervous and overwhelmed. greensad.gif

Please share if there's a method to your madness wink1.gif and any helpful resources, guides, etc for how you figure out what to teach all year.

Does anybody use their district's/county's/state's curriculum guidelines?

Thank you!!

ETA: sorry about my title typo. On my phone and I guess it likes "decided" better.
#2 of 27 Old 08-23-2012, 05:55 AM

I'm surprised you have required subjects for kindergarten?!? What is the age that mandatory education begins in MD? I believe most states it is 6-8, so kindergarten isn't even necessary to be official.
#3 of 27 Old 08-23-2012, 06:40 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

There is very little method to my madness, especially with a kindergartener.  For kindergarten, I think random exposure to random science and social studies information is fine.  What we've done is mostly just read aloud a variety of books on science and social studies topics, not trying to focus on any particular theme.  Sometimes we go to a museum or a nature program and I also put those experiences in our portfolio under social studies or science.