Alternate home curriculum to compliment children's public kindergarten experience? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 08-26-2012, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Three of our four boys are starting kindergarten this fall (my partner's son, my NT son, and my 6 year old son with ASD who I held back a year. I also have 2 month old baby. My background is in child development (mostly reggio-emilia inspired and emergent curriculum) but havn't been working since I went back to school and worked from home for a bit. My partner and I decided it was best for me to continue working from home this next school year because of 3 mismatched kindergarten schedules and new baby, but I am starting to mourn the loss of their prior learning experiences at high quality child-centered programs... I know public school is going to be a whole different story. Since I am not homeschooling, i was wondering if there is any suggested curriculum, resources, websites etc in relation to this scenario- where a parent is wanting to supplement a more creative, well-rounded "school" experience at home to compliment their more academic/ sterile experience at school for half-day kindergarten.

Thank you!

#2 of 11 Old 08-26-2012, 12:13 PM

Too much is too much, and a home curriculum on top of a school curriculum is just too much.

Art, music, play, read to them, imagine, talk, laugh, relax
That's my advice.
#3 of 11 Old 08-26-2012, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter