K12 through MAVA of Greenfield, MA? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 09-24-2012, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm looking to get some info about the "day in the life" for K12 MAVA (Greenfield, MA) students?  My understanding is that the states that offer the K12 option all do it a little different, with widely different expectations and rules. 

I have searched online for reviews specifically for the MAVA, but only found reviews on K12 as a curriculum.  I'm looking for more info about how Greenfield oversees and supports K12 (from parents and kids that are living it, not just from K12 staff/faculty).

Thanks!

#2 of 5 Old 09-26-2012, 11:37 PM

Hello! I have been using the K12 curriculum with my 2 children since 2001 and we love it. They are now both in high school and doing very well. I truly believe the K12 curriculum is a major factor in them being very prepared for college/university. We started with K12 as Direct Consumers (I purchased the curriculum and used it independently of any Virtual Academy) for their first few years. Then we moved to Wisconsin and joined WIVA and then 4 years ago moved to California where we joined CAVA. Even though each school is different in their requirements, they usually are pretty similar and of course the curriculum is the same. You did not mention what grade(s) you were looking at so I'll do the best to give an overview.