Singapore math - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Anybody know about Singapore math at Sunnybrook School? I am looking for one for my three year child. Alternative suggestions are also invited. 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 11:08 PM

Location: In the middle of nowhere, at the centre of everything.
Quoted: 95 Post(s)

You're looking for one what? Someone with experience with this program at this school, or just a school that uses Singapore Math, or just some Singapore Math materials?

I've been using Singapore Math with my kids for 12 years. It's been very popular in homeschooling circles and it was great for us. It's not magic, but it's cleverly designed by people who have a deep understanding of the pedagogy behind conceptual math learning, particularly in the primary years. For some children it can provide a great combination of features and advantages that are difficult to find in other programs. There are a number of Singaporean primary and secondary curricula now available. They're mostly based on the same pedagogy, but the presentation varies a bit. 

Miranda

Mountain mama to three great kids and one great grown-up

#3 of 4 Old 09-29-2012, 12:28 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have to be honest and say that none of my kids have been anywhere near ready for any formal maths work at three. We are very Waldorf inspired and avoid formal work til age 7 but even if we weren't, I think I'd have been just doing simple counting, perhaps montessori style stuff at this age rather than sit down stuff.