Kindergarten and writing- Is this normal? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-09-2012, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)

Hello,

This is my first year homeschooling. My daughter is 5 1/2 and we are doing "kindergarten." We are using the reading program "Little Angels" and I really like it. She is doing great job sounding out words. She knows all her letters and the basic sounds they make.

The problem I am having is with writing. If I show her how to write a letter, she does a good job writing it. However, she is not retaining memory of how to write different letters. She's also mixing up capital and lowercase... even though if I were to point to a letter and ask her if it's capital or lowercase, she would get it right.

An example- today we tried out first test. All she had to do was write the capital letter next to the given lowercase letter. I couldn't believe how she struggled with this! I finally gave up and decided we would do some practice writing.

I wrote a lowercase P on the first line (we were using the big lined kindergarten paper), and she proceeded to write about 10 beautiful lowercase p's. But when she moved on to the next line, she couldn't do it anymore. She had medium sized p's kind of floating in the middle, she had tiny little p's squished between the dotted line and bottom line.... I mean, she JUST WROTE 10 great p's! How did she forget from one line to the next?