Mothering Forum banner

7 year old son and reading-help

2K views 42 replies 22 participants last post by  katy1844 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,

This is my first year homeschooling my three children. My oldest is a girl in 4th grade, she's coming along pretty well. My son is 7 and in 1st grade. At the beginning of the year he was not reading AT ALL. I'm personally pretty laid back about it or at least was when he was in kindergarden. The hard part about him not reading is that I have to pretty much do EVERYTHING with him during our schooling hours (its like I am his private one on one tutor which does not leave a lot of time for his older sister or younger sister who is 4 and I am VERY laid back about preschool- oh and I'm having another child this fall!) . I have worked and worked and worked with him on his reading-it is VERY VERY slow. He is now probably what a kindergarden level would be (3 letter words). Part of the state requirements for homeschooling is they have to take a standardize test. I just got the pre-test and there is NO WAY he can do the reading section on even close...... I'm stressed out now and wondering if he would be better if he was in school. We are in part homeschooling because of him (I've always wanted to homeschool and he is very shy and HATES HATES school) but I am now second questioning my decision. I don't know how he could be better with the reading in school since he would not have been getting one on one-but he has not progressed like I had hoped-I am beginning to wonder if there is a learning disability. I would LOVE any suggestions or advice........

thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·
We did not fully unschool, so hopefully others will chime in with their experiences of children learning to read at an older age.