ways to encourage active learning in our home? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-22-2013, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

I am new to homeschooling (just started in January with my kindergartener) and I need some ways to encourage active and child-led learning in our home. Formal schoolwork always ends with groans and whines and I can't say I blame her. I love the idea of child-led but I don't want her to be playing disney princess all day either. Some things we do have:

-a garden

-a math board game she loves

-map puzzles

-a magnet science kit

-a butterfly science kit. I will be looking for more science kits!

Some things I am thinking about getting:

- more science kits

- a globe

- math manipulatives (any suggestions?)

She LOVES art, she would love to do that all day and I have tried to incorporate art into other things like letters and math but I would love some other ideas to make our home more conducive to learning. We take trips to local nature trails, museums,the library and have some outside activities like gymnastics and ballet. I would just love some ways for her to learn some math and reading that are more child-led so she won't be so resistant to it.

Granola-ey, crunchy, marathoning, natural living Christian mamatreehugger.gif down south with DHguitar.gif and DD1 (6)dust.gif, DD2 (2)energy.gif, and DD3 babygirl.gif.    homebirth.jpgwinner.jpgcd.giffemalesling.GIFgoorganic.jpghomeschool.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2013, 06:14 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Some things that we have that really spark conversations and learning:

Building blocks

Tangrams

Lots and lots of books: Art books, nature books, bird identification books, story books

Calendars the kids can mark on- noting special dates, counting down to events, noting birthdays