Math U See Vs. Rightstart - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-17-2013, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey, I was wondering if anyone can tell me how much teacher involvement is needed for Math U See Vs. Rightstart. I have been using Rightstart for three years and me and my child (first boy) both like it a lot. However my six year old (second boy) will be starting school this fall and I have a very active non-sleeping baby. I need a math curriculum for both of my students that will require less work than Rightstart. It looks like with MUS I watch a DVD for each lesson and then explain it to my child. OK, but then what? Each lesson has six worksheets. Do I do every worksheet with them or do they work on their own until they master the lesson? I really do love Rightstart but if I were to teach individual lessons for each boy it would be about an hour and a half total everyday. I don't want to spend that much time on one subject. Is it even realistic to expect children this young to work on math on their own?

Cynthia--Among other things, I am a wife and mother to two boys.
#2 of 7 Old 04-17-2013, 04:42 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)

I have never used either, so I have nothing to share there.  I did, however, want to mention that my newly 7 year old has been doing Singapore math 1 all on his own.  At the beginning he needed me to show him how the whole process worked but he caught on pretty fast.  Now he reads, looks at the examples, and completes the workbook assignments all on his own.  My role is limited to looking over what he has done and point out errors if there are any.  

How is your boys' reading level? Have you checked out Singapore? It has loads of pictures, is very intuitive and geared towards the learner.  My son is essentially teaching himself math.  

#3 of 7 Old 04-17-2013, 06:13 PM