Thoughts about learning - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 09-06-2013, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a 6 year old and a three (almost 4) year old and a 15 month old. This is our second year homeschooling (DS1 is in "first grade). We're off to a good start with our routine and such, and I'm feeling good about how intentional and consistent I'm being with our studies.

Well, I'm just thinking about stuff that we're teaching/learning. What's the point of it all? A lot of it, I think DS is learning as he goes and at his own pace and on his own initiative, etc, but the other stuff? Like he knows how to read (and so does DD- both basically self-taught), they obviously learned their letters and numbers at a pretty early age (by age two), DS is learning different aspects of math, like adding, subtracting, now he's talking about wanting to learn multiplication. He likes science and social studies, but some of the topics we cover I just kind of pick randomly, I've been reviewing the standard things for his particular level, and I'm just like, "oh, we haven't covered that yet!" and find activities to do based on that. The lessons, etc seem to go over well, but then I can ask the next day (or even later in the day) what we learned about and he's like "I don't know."

For example: yesterday, we had a lesson on MLK (inspired by the recent 50 year mark of the "I have a dream" speech) and we did a brief study on his life (like, very brief!) and watched a Scholastic video on Netflix of a book that was written about him, and did a coloring sheet. Neither DS or DD seemed particularly "moved" by any of it though, and I thought they might, especially because they are biracial...but nothing. Today I asked what we learned about yesterday, and he couldn't remember. Neither could DD.