Homeschooling from preschool and kindergarten. I just need some good stories and encouragement. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 12-30-2013, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi! I'm doing some research for homeschooling for next year, as we plan on homeschooling our (nearly) 5 year old son. I have been researching it for the past several months since I'm due in April and don't want to have to think about it during my postpartum period. My son is in an IEP right now, but doesn't receive any special services like occupational therapy or speech in the public preschool he goes to. This was NOT our initial plan, since we wanted to avoid public school altogether, but he had some impulsivity and behavioral issues as well as speech delays that needed to be addressed. We wanted to help him socially as well. He hasn't been diagnosed for anything at all, but they said that he might be on the autism spectrum in the high functioning category. He has developed tremendously over the last year and now can hold conversations with us and tell us how he's feeling (angry, happy, sick, full, etc.) so we aren't worried about him that much anymore. His preschool teacher says that he gets a bit bored when they go over things that he already knows, like letters (lower and uppercase) with phonics or counting that the other students don't know yet. He's exhibiting lots of pre-reading skills and can recognize words. She says that he'll be happier in a more academically rigorous environment.