kindergarden!!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-12-2014, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kindergarden!!!!

My baby is 5, will be 6 in march. I want to start homeschooling in August. I have already picked out a math (Saxon) and reading (Burton reading) program, what other subjects do you guys think I should cover for her age????
I'm a newbie!!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-13-2014, 03:45 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Whatever sounds fun to both of you! At that age (my littlest turns 6 next week) we just read to/with them a lot and do what my 12 yo calls "kitchen math"- weights and measures, temperatures, money, etc. Cooking together, build a birdhouse, figure out how much paint to buy for a project...everyday stuff. Most kids that age love hands on science experiments, from a kit or book or just experimenting on their own.
Old 06-13-2014, 09:02 AM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
I highly recommend board games at this age. Chutes and Ladders (counting to 100), Quirkle (pattern recognition--of but it's so much more!) especially the Quirkle cubes that allow you to roll for another color/shape, Battleship (coordinates), Monopoly or Monopoly Junior (money, addition and subtraction and a little multiplication)-- try the many renditions like Farmopoly or Horseopoly), Yahtzee and/or Kismet....

Of course any game is going to teach logic and strategy (Chess, Labyrinth, etc.)

This is the age we started giving a tiny allowance-- one quarter per year per week, which meant 1.25 for 5 years old. I would also give my girls a percentage if they rolled all the loose change (except quarters, which I do and need for allowance). I give 100% of the value of the pennies, 10% of the value of the nickel and dime rolls.

We also have loved wooden pattern shapes, which we lay out on a yoga mat to make pictures. And wooden Cuisenaire rods. Miquon Math uses those rods in its work books.