Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Learning at Home and Beyond (http://www.mothering.com/forum/50-learning-home-beyond/)
-   -   Foreign Language: How and When? (http://www.mothering.com/forum/50-learning-home-beyond/1426073-foreign-language-how-when.html)

DuchessTergie 06-24-2014 12:04 PM

Foreign Language: How and When?

Hi mamas. I plan on HS DD when she turns 6-- two years from now. However, it recently occurred to me she is in the prime time for foreign language instruction.

When did you start? What program? DVD, computer, actuall lessons? I studied French for 4 years and the only thing I have to show for it is an undying devotion to cheese and wine. :)

smartmama 06-24-2014 06:27 PM

I started homeschooling my kids when they were halfway through 2nd and 5th grade. So I dove right in with the foreign languages. We do Italian and American Sign Language (I know ASL isn't technically a foreign language, but I think it's a beneficial skill for them to learn, so I categorize it under foreign language.)

We use lifeprint.com for our sign language and DuoLingo for the Italian. I just learned about a site called memrise that supposedly is really great for helping you to learn a foreign language, but I haven't yet tested it out myself.

moominmamma 06-24-2014 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by smartmama (Post 17726393)
I know ASL isn't technically a foreign language

Many countries have more than one language in common use, and most I think talk about Second Language Learning rather than "foreign" language. I'm in Canada, where most Anglo kids study French, and it's not a foreign language here: it's one of our country's two official languages. ASL also fits easily under the umbrella of Second Language learning, while also not being foreign.

Miranda

my3legacies 06-24-2014 11:56 PM

We also use lifeprint.com for ASL, and we love it!

zannster 06-26-2014 03:48 PM