Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By moominmamma

#1 of 7 Old 06-24-2014, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Foreign Language: How and When?

Hi mamas. I plan on HS DD when she turns 6-- two years from now. However, it recently occurred to me she is in the prime time for foreign language instruction.

When did you start? What program? DVD, computer, actuall lessons? I studied French for 4 years and the only thing I have to show for it is an undying devotion to cheese and wine.
#2 of 7 Old 06-24-2014, 05:27 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I started homeschooling my kids when they were halfway through 2nd and 5th grade. So I dove right in with the foreign languages. We do Italian and American Sign Language (I know ASL isn't technically a foreign language, but I think it's a beneficial skill for them to learn, so I categorize it under foreign language.)

We use lifeprint.com for our sign language and DuoLingo for the Italian. I just learned about a site called memrise that supposedly is really great for helping you to learn a foreign language, but I haven't yet tested it out myself.
#3 of 7 Old 06-24-2014, 06:16 PM

Location: In the middle of nowhere, at the centre of everything.
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by smartmama View Post
I know ASL isn't technically a foreign language
Many countries have more than one language in common use, and most I think talk about Second Language Learning rather than "foreign" language. I'm in Canada, where most Anglo kids study French, and it's not a foreign language here: it's one of our country's two official languages. ASL also fits easily under the umbrella of Second Language learning, while also not being foreign.

Miranda
AAK likes this.

Mountain mama to three great kids and one great grown-up

#4 of 7 Old 06-24-2014, 10:56 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
We also use lifeprint.com for ASL, and we love it!
#5 of 7 Old 06-26-2014, 02:48 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)