Mirror image writing? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-16-2004, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a bright 5.5 year old who has pretty much self taught herself reading in the last few months, and is doing really well on that front. We unschool at this point. She is liking to write more and more, but about 5-10% of the time, she will write the entire sentence/page she is writing entirely mirror image. She starts at the right side of the page, and all the letters are formed correcrly, just flipped. She never does it with just one letter, it seems to be some kind of mode her brain clicks on. I don't think she is doing it on purpose. I have just not commented on it at all, because I don't want to give her a hangup or stress about "is this right" (she's a pretty sensitive kid)
I'm not really worried about disorders or anything, I was just wondering if someone could shed light on this phenomenon. Here's an example. I think it is so cute.
!NUF AV STOL VOH !!!TARBALES (Celebrate!!! Have lots of fun !) LOL Except all the letters are flipped. I love phonetic kid spelling.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-16-2004, 10:13 PM

My DD does the exact same thing. If she write from left to right, she forms letters correctly. If she writes from right to left, she flips all of her letters. From what I understand, it is normal. And I am getting very good at reading backwards.
Old 11-16-2004, 11:38 PM

Abi likes to scatter her letters all over the page. It's like playing word jumble.

Sounds like you have a very creative girl who is able to see things from different perspectives.

Darshani

7yo: "Mom,I know which man is on a quarter and which on is on a nickel. They both have ponytails, but one man has a collar and the other man is naked. The naked man was our first president."

Old 11-17-2004, 01:35 AM