Sazuki Teaching Method? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 29 Old 09-09-2002, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Has anyone heard of the Sazuki Teaching Method?
I may be spelling it wrong but I can't find anything about it on the web.
It is supposed to be a teaching method that uses music and teaching parent and child an instrument together.
#2 of 29 Old 09-09-2002, 03:12 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It's "Suzuki."

http://www.suzukiassociation.org/

http://www.suzuki-music.com/

Single Mom to 3 (12, 17 & 21)  luxlove.gif and dog2.gif.

#3 of 29 Old 09-11-2002, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter

So has anyone here ever used it? and likes or dislikes?
#4 of 29 Old 09-11-2002, 07:28 PM

I think it depends on the instrument that your child would be learning. My understanding is that the Suzuki method is very well respected for string instruments, such as violin. It is much more controversial when it comes to piano. When I majored in music and took Piano Pedagogy, our professor had no good to say about Suzuki and didn't even mention it with any seriousness when we discussed the various teaching methods for piano. I didn't know any piano teacher (university-related) in that area who used Suzuki. It is controversial because many traditional teachers feel that it doesn't focus enough on getting students to read music. They become wonderful listeners, and therefore their musicianship is great, they play expressively, but they can't read music fluently, which is a must for a pianist, I think much more than for a violinist.

I would love to hear some opinions from the other side. I personally am only marginally familiar with the method, although one of my brothers learned piano using it (quit after one year--but that wasn't necessarily Suzuki's fault). I am only going off the opinions of great musicians and educators that I highly respect. And again, I can only speak for piano.
#5 of 29 Old 09-13-2002, 06:28 PM