A good school makes me qualified to hometeach... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 50 Old 05-11-2005, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
On another message board (a non homeschooling board) there was a thread about the top 100 schools in the nation. The article went on to list one thousand schools. We were commenting on which school we went to and what number it was. I said " Mine is #108". I had a couple people say (in a non snarky way...they actually feel this way) "then that's okay that you homeschool your kids since you went to a good school." ARGH. Completely and totally infuriating. Some of the best homeschoolers I know never graduated highschool. I told those other ladies " I graduated by the skin of my teeth with D's and one C."
THEN I heard "well afflulent people can do better at hs'ing". (because the school I went to was rich school. ) um...just cuz my parents lived in the right spot to send me to a good public school doesn't mean *I* am well to do right now. double argh.

Just goes to show ya when you think you can particpate with the masses they rear up and bite ya on the behind.
#2 of 50 Old 05-11-2005, 10:54 AM

What do you really expect from a message board, though? It's the nature of the beast. I haven't been on one message board where I haven't gotten annoyed at one time or another.
The fact that it was a non-h/s board indicates you probably won't find much support there.
#3 of 50 Old 05-11-2005, 12:15 PM

The "logic" behind this is crazy. Every school, no matter how "good" or "affluent" isn't that way across the board. No doubt the good people of the message board in question wouldn't consider every single graduate of the schools in question to be qualified for HSing. If the only criterion they're using is this list, they're including an awful lot of people that under other circumstances they'd object to.