Introduction - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 06-11-2005, 12:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Since I seem to have come out of lurkdom and posted a few times, I thought I should introduce myself.

I am Mellanie, wife to an absolutley wonderful man and mom to a 5.5yo ds (Ryan) and a 2.5yo dd (Rachel). I am a lactation consultant working 2 days per week at a local hospital (which I really, really hate and plan to leave as soon as we can financially afford it) and I have a small private practice that I run from my home.

Homeschooling has been in the back of my mind for awhile. Before my first child was born I thought homeschooling was just wrong. I had all of the usual arguments - kids wouldn't get enough socialization, kids are too sheltered, you have to be really smart, you can't teach kids advanced science, math, etc if you aren't good at it, and so on. The last few years, as my first has approached school age, I have been thinking more seriously about it. I have friends that homeschool and I have seen that there are alot of options in my area for homeschoolers for socialization, sports, classes at private schools to supplement homeschooling, etc. I started lurking here and reading about two weeks ago and I have learned a tremendous amount.