spin off: What can a teacher do to learn about homeschooling here? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 28 Old 07-12-2005, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I would really like to know the ropes here. This forum does not have any guidelines so I am asking. I am a former teacher, now at home with a 2 yr old dd, thinking about different types of schooling and considering homeschooling. I am familiar with many types of classroom schooling but literally know absolutely no one in real life who homeschools.
  • Is it best to just lurk for a long time and wait to post until you actually start homeschooling?
  • Does my teaching experience qualify me to offer any ideas? I have taught in private and public schools, large and small, in a variety of settings. I have a masters of education. Or, would that seem threatening? I certainly would never tell anyone what to do, just offer ideas.
  • Is there a way to politely dispel school stereotypes without appearing to be against homeschooling?

I live in a city where the public schools are in crisis and literally 33% of children go to private schools. Not sure about homeschooling percentages. I taught in these schools and I am pretty sure that I not only do not want to return but I definitely don't want my child to attend most of the schools in the city. (a few are ok) So, I am exploring options. I love to share ideas but if that would appear threatening, to have a teacher who is not currently homeschooling but interested in it, sharing ideas, then I will refrain.

I am most sincere in my request.
#2 of 28 Old 07-12-2005, 08:04 PM

Well, I hope I'm not overstepping MY bounds, as I don't homeschool yet.