pressure to put 3yo ds in school - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 07-06-2006, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DS turned 3 in April and we've been getting a lot of pressure from my family (or should I say mother) to put him in some kind of preschool program this fall. I'm sure my feelings are obvious as I've posted this here
My mother has VERY strong socialization issues, like big issues that caused her to push me and my brothers very strongly to have more friends, be more "popular" and not appear to be socially inept losers in her eyes. She's like obsessed with it and it was really hard, especailly as a teen. You feel like the world thinks you're a loser, you don't need your mom backing them up.
Anyway, we moved to the same town as my mom when ds was about a year old, and she started in with her socialization stuff. I studied child development in college for a year (that's a lot of child development) while working in Montessori so I like to think I know what my child needs. I knew he didn't need to be in a daycare situation for socialization at that point, but I still let her convince me into taking a 2hr per day job at a local montessori so he would get some regular play time with other kids. He HATED it so I quit. He would just cry the whole time he was there