Mothering Forum banner

Trying to make the decision

383 views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  callmemama 
#1 ·
A year ago at this time I would have said without a doubt in my mind that I would definitely homeschool my kids for as long as possible, preferably through graduation. However, certain circumstances in my life are making me seriously reconsider this decision.

1. I have gone back to school full time and am now going through a divorce. I may be needing to take on some part time work too, in order to make ends meet.

2. My ex is moving into one of the best school districts in the state (all the schools in this district have won national blue ribbon awards), a school district that I am also very familiar with, because I am a former teacher who was employed there before having children. He feels that neither of us will have the time to properly devote to hsing and that we should send our oldest dd to the school district he's moving to (she will be 5 in April) next school year. He feels that it's the best school district around and since I know many of the teachers and how the schools are run, I could better foresee what potential issues might be.

3. My oldest is quite probably gifted and I wonder if I will be able to sufficiently challenge her to her fullest potential. I've thought that perhaps cyberschooling would be a good compromise, since the curriculum would be designed and I'd only have to do implementation , which would be less time-consuming. However, I also feel I need to be realistic about whether or not I'd really be able to keep up with it. Because I am due to run out of federal loan money for college by the end of next school year, I have to cram in 19 credits each semester from here on out in order to finish, and I am earning a rather demanding degree (physics and astronomy).