considering HSing. need a good book for a beginner?? why, how, etc... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 02-09-2007, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi mammas!
im starting to think about homeshooling or unschooling or ?? my 8mo and 7yo.
i know its a little early for the little one, but time flies! hopefully its not too late for the older one. he loves his montissori school, so thats a step in the right direction.
can anyone reccomend a good, up to date book for total beginner moms? i basically need all the info on different methods, lesson plans (seems like there are a million!), legalities, successes and not so success stories.
i know im going to get some negativity from ds#1" dad (my ummm, yucky x) so im going to need all the good reasons why (he thinks i must be totally out there!)
i found one at a thrift shop but its from '86, so im sure alot has changed.
thanks mammas, and keep up the great work!!!
#2 of 7 Old 02-09-2007, 10:31 AM

The first book I read about homeschooling was by Linda Dobson. The Homeschooling Book of Answers was really helpful (and so is she, if you contact her) as well as The First Year of Homeschooling Your Child.

My local library has both books, so you might be able to find her books at yours.

Dhjammin.gif, Me knit.gif, DD 10 REPlaySkateboard04HL.gif, DD 7 cat.gif, DD 4 joy.gif

We reading.gif, homeschool.gif, cold.gif, eat.gif, sleepytime.gif not in that order

#3 of 7 Old 02-09-2007, 11:24 AM

I agree with Karen about The Homeschooling Book of Answers by Linda Dobson. I passed that book around to family members as well. When I was thinking about homeschooling, I just went to the library and checked out every book about hsing. They are in the education section. Good luck!

Amy: Mom to 8, homeschooler, runner, Baby #9 due April 2013

#4 of 7 Old 02-09-2007, 11:48 AM