Mothering Forum banner

Which curriculum do you like for K? Sonlight vs. My Father's World or no curriculum?

8K views 17 replies 15 participants last post by  MidwifeErika 
#1 ·
HI,
I've been researching and putting my feet on HSing world for 2 years but don't know much about curriculum. My son will be 5 in June and I will need to decide which way to HS him. I visited my friend who use Sonlight curriculum and I liked the books but it is expensive...
What do you suggest for HSing Kindergarten age and what curriculum is good? I also went to a curriculum fair but there are so many books out there I can't literally pick each one and choose...
Thanks so much.

#3 ·
i have never used anything for kindergarten. We use a basic handwriting program (a reason for handwriting and explode the code primers) and math program (making math meaningful) and start with reading instruction but otherwise everything else is just reading library books etc . . .

#4 ·
Quote:
Which curriculum do you like for K? Sonlight vs. My Father's World or no curriculum?
I'd say "no curriculum" if, by that, you mean a schooling type program. Here's an article I put together after years of repeating parts of it over and over again: A Homeschool Curriculum for Preschool and Kindergarten

And this page of links includes articles at the top, beneath which are lots of annotated links to websites that have great ideas for activites with little ones:
Preschool and Kindergarten Learning Activities.

Have fun!
Lillian

#7 ·
Another Ambleside Online user here...I'm using it for my 8 year old but when my son is in Kindergarten in a few years I'll use it for him too. Technically it is a curriculum but it allows for a lot of freedom, with no tests, workbooks, etc--it's mostly just reading great books with your kids, going for nature walks, doing handicrafts, etc. It's also completely free and there is plenty of online support in the way of Yahoo groups.