Mothering Forum banner

K12 Virtual Academy?

1K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Mary-Beth 
#1 ·
Newbie here...thinking about homeschooling next year.

We have a K12 Virtual Academy that just opened up here last year. Everything is totally free, which is the biggest benefit for us, as we are struggling financially and I feel like an existing curriculum would be best to start out with.

The one reservation I have with the K12 program is that it seems like there is very little freedom for students and parents. It looks like you have to constantly send reports to the "school" and such. I'm not sure that I like the idea of having that watchful eye over us all the time.

Any experience with this?

#4 ·
From what I have read regarding K-12, not from this list, is that it is a government funded homeschooling program and is to be avoided. This is just what I have read a very long time ago when I first started homeschooling four years ago. I guess just do the research and see what you really want your homeschooling experience to be like.
Try this one... it is free too...
http://amblesideonline.org/

#5 ·
I just posted this in a thread below this one.

Quote:
We use k12 as a homeschool option (2nd and 4th grades). We just dropped the math and science portion of it. I found math for my children to be too easy. They love math and were always wanting to do more. We finished it up very early and I didn't sign back up for it.

I found their science, on the other hand to move too quickly. I also thought it was very hard. My kids were horribly frustrated with it. I think their history is a little advanced as well. But you don't really have to fully undersand history to move on and theirs repeats itself so much that eventually my kids get it. I am also REALLY weak in history and this program keeps me on track.