Hates Math! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 02-18-2002, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been homeschooling my son, almost thirteen, for two years. Before that he went to school through half of fifth grade. Along about third grade he started to really dislike math (when they start to doing nothing but worksheets with the same basic twentyfive problems). Til then he had enjoyed it and done well enough with it that in second grade he went with a small bunch of kids from his class for enrichment math, for kids who really grasped the ideas and were in danger of being bored by just the math being done in the classroom.

Problem now is that he still really hates math and although I like the curriculum we have (Math U See) because it always explains WHY and WHEN and not just HOW, he dreads doing it, zones out, doesn't think about what he's doing, and sometimes does poorly, although doesn't really have trouble getting concepts. I don't make him do mindless worksheets either. I only have him do as many problems as it takes to show me he gets the idea in terms of when to use the concept and that he can do it. I try to come up with as many word problems as possible because he likes those better.

What I want to know is, how much math does a person really need? I keep thinking he has to learn this stuff because you have to have a basic level of math skills under your belt, but what is that level???? Does it include multiplying mixed numbers? I don't see him working in a field where high level math is required, but I don't want to limit him at such a young age to the possibilities open to him. He is much more of a reader/writer but loves the computer and designing web sites. Will he need alot of math for that kind of work? Who has the answers to these questions? Any grown unschoolers out there who let go of the math at a certain point and don't regret it?

Thanks!
#2 of 10 Old 02-18-2002, 01:31 PM