hs kids successful in later life, college, the work world? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-15-2007, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm being interviewed for a local publication n very short notice, and have a long list of 20+ detailed questions about homeschooing and the homeschool group I started, that she wants TOMORROW!

The last question on the list was, "How are homeschooled kids successful in later life? College? The work world?"

What are your perspectives? Do you have any links to articles?

I'd love the help. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-15-2007, 03:00 PM

Would these help?

http://www.stanfordalumni.org/news/m...schooling.html

http://www.post-gazette.com/regionst...omeschool5.asp
Old 09-15-2007, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks!

I submitted my stuff. Whew! That was well over a solid hour of typing answers to questions.

Since I'm not a homeschooling expert and my oldest isn't even 8 yet, I figured I could br brief on that last question.

I wrote:

Finally, how are homeschooled kids successful in later life? College? The work world?
Ivy League colleges are actively recruiting homeschoolers these days, and homeschoolers perform very well in college, as a group.
http://www.stanfordalumni.org/news/m...schooling.html
http://www.post-gazette.com/regionst...omeschool5.asp

According to Dr. Brian Ray, in a summary of his research entitled Homeschooling Grows Up, homeschool graduates are just as or more likely to go on to college as the general population, more satisfied in their work, happier with their lives overall, and more involved in civic affairs.
Old 09-15-2007, 04:20 PM