email for kids...blogging - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 12-05-2007, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,

I'm just getting started with homeschool and have spent hours reading archives on this site. What a wealth of information and broad spectrums of learning, I love it!

I am fairly new at blogging. My daughter started her own blog, or so I thought. I put it under my email address and it shows up under my name. Do I need to get her her own email address for it to show that it's hers?

I am nervous about getting her own email account for her but want to! Are there any that you're aware of that are spamfree for free? Or some that are less. I suppose I could get her her own and just not have her use it, but I really want her and my other kids to email each other and maybe even get a penpal or something. Anyway, thought?

Thanks,
Dain
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 12-05-2007, 09:20 PM

Hi,
My dd is 6 and has her own email address. We write her cousins and grandparents. I would be more concerned about a blog that was visible to many, as opposed to an email account. Is her blog set to private? She shouldn't get spam at her email address unless she uses it to sign up for things or visit other websites with it. My dd has never received one spam. Anyway, hope this helps

homeschooling mama to DD 10 & DS 7 blogging.jpg

#3 of 8 Old 12-05-2007, 11:16 PM

My DS has an e-mail account. Like the PP, I'm more comfortable with an e-mail account than a blog. My DS e-mails friends and family members. I have the password, so I'm able to check the account just to make sure there aren't any issues.

I've found e-mail a great way for DS to improve his writing and spelling skills.

New signature, same old me: Ann- mama of 2 boys and 2 girls, partnered to a fabulous man.
I'm an unintentional weasel feeder and I suck at proofreading.
#4 of 8 Old 12-05-2007, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter