Mothering Forum banner

Considering Moving to Phoenix

449 views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  JeanetteL 
#1 ·
I am soon to be a single Mom and I am considering Phoenix.

I have a masters in Special Education and will look for a teaching position in the Middle or High school level. Which districts are considered good? Part of my reason for moving is to be able to afford to buy a home for my son and myself. Here in Silicon Valley I can not buy a 20 yr old 1200 sq ft no frills home ($450,000). Which areas around Phoenix are nice and safe? I have heard that there are some gang problems in the North and West areas...and there do seem to be a lot of the new home construction in those areas.

I tolerate heat much better than cold...but some of the posts I read are quite daunting.

Any advice? Thoughts?

#2 ·
Hi,

You already know about the heat, so I won't talk about that. (But it is reeeally hot!) Home prices are reasonable compared to CA, and we have many nice neighborhoods. But teachers don't get paid as much here as they do in other states. My son is in a charter school, but I've heard good things about the Mesa, Deer Valley and Peoria Unified school districts. And there's nice places to live within all those districts.

Phoenix is growing dramatically, so you should have no trouble getting a teaching position, especially if you'd like to live in one of the newer, outer communities. (I personally love Estrella Mountain Ranch, but I don't live there and don't know anything about the school district.)

Have you spent any time in Phx? That may help you decide if you even like it here.

I hope this helps a little. Good luck in your decision.

#3 ·