Another call to action for HR 1341 for legal midwifery study - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 3 Old 03-10-2006, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
 
EmmaJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Here's the latest email I received from GFM. The next vote is happening MONDAY! So call or email everybody. They've made it super easy! At the bottom is a big block of emails to cut and paste. Please do something! We need our voices to be heard! And this is just for a STUDY....
Emily

------

If you haven’t email or called yet, you still have another opportunity
before the vote next week. Your voice counts- your government leaders do
listen! Please contact today! They need to hear from as many people as
possible to know that people DO care about Direct-Entry Midwifery in GA!

Jennifer Fargár

GFOM Volunteer

Call me if you have questions about what to say, etc., H 404-875-4377, C
404-433-9618



Call to Action !!

Now is the time to call members of the House Rules Committee, especially
Rules Chairman Rep. Earl Ehrhart, to ask them to move HR 1341 (House
Resolution for a Joint Study Committee of Direct-Entry Midwifery) out of
Rules and onto the calendar for a vote.



1. RIGHT AWAY: Phone, e-mail or fax Rules Committee Chair Earl Ehrhart (o)
404.656.5141, eaeh@facilitygroup.com , fax 404.463.2600 and ask him to “move
HR 1341 out of Rules.”

2. RIGHT AWAY: Ask your Representative to ask Chairman Ehrhart to move HR
1341 out of Rules.

3. AS SOON AS POSSIBLE: Phone, e-mail or fax any or all of the members of
the Rules Committee in support of HR 1341 (see contact info below).



(It only takes about 20 minutes to call them all! See the list below, about
30 of them.) You can say “My name is ___ and I’m calling to leave a message
for Representative _______. Please tell him/her to please support HR 1341,
the House Resolution for a Joint Study Committee of Direct-Entry Midwives,
move it out of Rules and onto the calendar for a vote. Thank you.”



Earl Ehrhart 404.656.5141, eaeh@facilitygroup.com

Sue Burmeister & Barry Fleming 404.656.5024, subrmyster@aol.com,
barry.fleming@house.ga.gov

James Mills 404.656.5099, james.mills@house.ga.gov


Terry Barnard- 404-656-5138, terry.barnard@house.ga.gov

Mark Burkhalter- 404-656-5072, Mark.Burkhalter@house.ga.gov
Sharon Cooper- 404-463-8142, sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov

Bob Lane- 404-656-5115, bob.lane@house.ga.gov
Fran Millar- 404-656-5064,
fran_millar@palmercay.com
Dubose Porter & Carolyn Hugley 404-656-5058 dubose.porter@house.ga.gov,
carolynl.hugley@house.ga.gov

Robert Ray- 404-656-0265, robert.ray@house.ga.gov
Jay Shaw- 404-656-7859, jay.shaw@house.ga.gov
Calvin Smyre- 404-656-0116, calvinsmyre@synovus.com
Wendell Willard- 404-656-5125, wendell.willard@house.ga.gov
Ben Bridges- 404-656-5143, ben.bridges@house.ga.gov
David Casas- 404-656-0254, david.casas@house.ga.gov
Jeff Lewis- 404-656-9198,
jeff.lewis@house.ga.gov
Bobby Parham- 404-656-0202, bobby.parham@house.ga.gov
David Ralston- 404-656-5943, dralston1@etcmail.com
Tom Rice- 404-656-5912, tom.rice@house.ga.gov
Bob Smith- 404-463-2247, smith98@bellsouth.net
Ron Stephens 404-656-5122, quickrxdrg@aol.com
Jeff Brown 404-463-2247, jeff.brown@house.ga.gov
Mickey Channel & Larry Parish 404-656-0298
mickey.channell@house.ga.gov, butch.parrish@house.ga.gov
Rich Golick 404-651-7737,
rich.golick@house.ga.gov
Jerry Keen- 404-656-5052, jlkeen@bellsouth.net

John Lunsford- 404-656-7573, john.lunsford@house.ga.gov
Nikki Randall & David Graves- 404-656-0109
nikki.randall@house.ga.gov, repdavidgraves@hotmail.com
Austin Scott- 404-656-5132, austin.scott@house.ga.gov
***** Smith- 404-656-7153, *****.smith@house.ga.gov
Len Walker- 404-656-5139, lwalker@nfumc.org



OR YOU CAN COPY & PASTE THE WHOLE BLOCK OF EMAILS AND SEND ONE MASSIVE
MESSAGE TO EACH REP.:



eaeh@facilitygroup.com', 'terry.barnard@house.ga.gov',
'james.mills@house.ga.gov', 'subrmyster@aol.com',
'Mark.Burkhalter@house.ga.gov', 'fran_millar@palmercay.com',
'bob.lane@house.ga.gov', 'repdavidgraves@hotmail.com',
'sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov', 'david.casas@house.ga.gov',
'barry.fleming@house.ga.gov', 'wendell.willard@house.ga.gov',
'ben.bridges@house.ga.gov', 'jay.shaw@house.ga.gov',
'calvinsmyre@synovus.com', 'robert.ray@house.ga.gov',
'dubose.porter@house.ga.gov', 'rich.golick@house.ga.gov',
'mickey.channell@house.ga.gov', 'quickrxdrg@aol.com',
'jeff.brown@house.ga.gov', 'smith98@bellsouth.net',
'dralston1@etcmail.com', 'tom.rice@house.ga.gov',
'bobby.parham@house.ga.gov', 'jeff.lewis@house.ga.gov',
'carolynl.hugley@house.ga.gov', 'lwalker@nfumc.org',
'*****.smith@house.ga.gov', 'austin.scott@house.ga.gov',
'nikki.randall@house.ga.gov', 'butch.parrish@house.ga.gov',
'john.lunsford@house.ga.gov', 'jlkeen@bellsouth.net'







Don't know who your representative is? To find out, call the local Board of
Elections, or go to



http://www.legis.state.ga.us/legis/FindLegislator.htm



on the internet. Enter the requested information (your address etc.) and you
will get your polling place and district number -- click on your House
district number for a link to your Representative's page (with phone
numbers, address, etc). It’s simple!



Get those phone calls and e-mails going!



Thanks again!
EmmaJean is offline  
#2 of 3 Old 03-10-2006, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
 
EmmaJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Oh, btw, here's the (seemingly) auto-reply I received from one of them:

Thank you so much for your email concerning HR 1341. This resolution deals with a complicated issue that has not be fully debated yet, but I will keep your insight in consideration as this bill comes up for discussion.

Thank you,
John Lunsford


Message sent via:
Meagan Smith
Legislative Intern
Representative John Lunsford's Office

And here's my response:

This resolution is only to support a study. After the study, then the debates should happen. Georgia needs to step up with numerous other states that have liscenced midwifery. It's better for babies, mothers, and the state when mothers have access to good birth choices. Keeping midwivery the way it is in Georgia isn't helping anyone. There is a large base of support for midwives in the state, and birth outcomes will only get better as midwives become liscenced. The study will show that this is the case in other states.

Thank you,
Emily Johnson
EmmaJean is offline  
#3 of 3 Old 03-11-2006, 10:10 PM
 
mamasoulsistah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Emailed the entire list. Thank you for providing the information I needed to support this bill.

Joey
mamasoulsistah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Drag and Drop File Upload
Drag files here to attach!
Upload Progress: 0
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Mothering Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off