What to tell DD about her birth - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 01-17-2009, 12:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to this folder, and I hope this is the right place to post this. DD was born 3.5 years ago, and I'm currently 29 weeks pregnant w/ #2. DD was a planned birth center birth turned induction/epidural/c-section birth. While I'm not certain, the c-section was probably unnecessary and more a result of the interventions than anything. It was a very traumatic experience for me and made bonding with DD difficult in the early months.

We're planning a homebirth for #2 and want DD to be there, so we've been talking a lot about normal births. DD has started asking about her birth, starting with asking if she was born at home. She's inquisitive and asks very probing questions. So, we've gotten to her knowing that she was born in a hospital and that there were doctors there, that things didn't go well and didn't happen the way we wanted them to. She wants details. I have no idea what to tell her. I really try to avoid the "you'll understand when you're older" thing in general, but I also want to respect where she is developmentally and not tell her more than she can handle. I'm leaning towards just telling her that she got stuck and couldn't come out the normal way and explaining how the c-section went, but I just don't know if that's the right thing to do. I don't know if I want to deal with weeks of questions about the c-section, and I don't know if it's right to tell her that much detail.

So, I'm very interested in hearing what you told your young children about their births. Thank you for any insight and/or advice you can offer.

Crafty Mama to 5 year old DD and 1 year old DS.
#2 of 7 Old 01-17-2009, 07:19 AM