Mothering Forum banner

3rd Degree Tear Complications

4K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  scottishmommy 
#1 ·
I am almost 6 months postpartum and still having complications from a 3rd degree tear, almost a 4th degree. I am suffering from some fecal/gas incontinence. I was seen by a colorectal surgeon at 3 months pp. I have to return when I reach the 6 month pp point. They say it can take a long time for this to heal. I have been doing kegels for 4 months now, with no improvement. I am doing about 40 kegels daily and not sure if I am doing enough. I am going to ask about going to pelvic floor physical therapy next. Just wondering if anyone has been through this and how long before I see some improvement? Getting nervous as time ticks on without any improvement. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

#2 ·
I had a 3rd degree, too. It's rough.

Kegels alone aren't particularly effective if the muscles can't fully engage. When there is weakness/scar tissue present, they are hampered in their movement, and you can't really strengthen them properly. Hands on, internal pelvic physical therapy is VERY helpful. There is work you can do on your own, as well. I was treated by Tami Kent, here in Portland, who has recently published a fantastic book, called Wild Feminine, about how to self-heal. I highly recommend looking into her book, and finding a practitioner in your area who can help you.

Good luck!

#4 ·
my problems are pretty much all sexual, but physical therapy helped quite a bit, and I'm not even sure my therapist was very good. They can also evaluate if you're doing the kegels correctly, I read somewhere that most women are doing them wrong, and that can make urinary incontinence at least, worse.

Good luck.

#5 ·