Thinking about next time... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi I'm new to mothering-- this is my first post! I have a darling two-month-old baby boy. I wouldn't say his birth was completely "traumatic" but it was very long (about 44 hours) and I had to transfer from a birth center to the hospital for "failure to progress" and eventually got an epidural there so that I could rest. The entire labor was painful. I never experienced light contractions, in fact, the 3rd or 4th contraction I had brought me to my knees in the shower. (That's about when I figured I was really in labor.) Pushing was extremely difficult as I had to be on my back thanks to the epidural. However, breastfeeding was very easy. My boy came out hungry and nursed like a pro. 

So now for some reason I keep thinking about the next birth. I want to get pregnant again maybe next year or even by the end of this year. Part of me wants to try for the 100% natural birth center waterbirth I had wanted before but another part of me thinks I should use the midwife practice at the hospital and just see what happens. (This hospital is really awesome as far as hospitals go. My experience there was fantastic.) Have any of you had similar situations? Am I crazy to want another one so soon?

hijab.gif Learning to... sewmachine.gif andphotosmile2.gif with mybabyf.gifby my side!

#2 of 9 Old 04-15-2011, 05:02 PM