4 Wks post partum, it definitely went awry. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 06-14-2011, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

First timer... man did my birth go the opposite from my wishes.

I prepped extensively with hypnobirthing, tons of yoga (I am a yoga instructor), lots of guided relaxation, husband was great at relaxing me.

A day after my due date I came down with Bells Palsy (half of my face is still paralyzed - they don't know when it will go away but most think it will just go away in time.)  We headed to the ER thinking I was having a stroke and my BP spiked, but thankfully I and the baby were ok except that HELLO half of my face doesn't work which is really upsetting to me... i don't want any pics taken of me and the baby still.

So I ended up way overdue and was in a very weird place with the palsy and waiting for the baby to come.

Labor was way more intense than I expected which I think is due to what was going on in my uterus - the cord was tied in a true knot.  The baby did not come down into the pelvis and no one thought much of it but it was definitely a warning sign in retrospect.  I think he was protecting his cord.  I labored very hard at home, cxns were 2 minutes apart and extremely painful.  I had no way of dealing - my techniques went out the window.  

Headed to the hospital and I was only 1-2 cm and not engaged!  I couldn't imagine how long things would take and they were very assholish to me at the hospital because they didn't think I was really in serious labor.

I labored for a few hours there then asked to be checked again.  Being hooked up to the monitor, thankfully my husband was watching it carefully.  The heartrate descended to 96 in about 5 seconds and my husband flagged someone down, this was when the cord knot cinched.  I was in the operating room in about ten minutes and had the c section.