Can't get over my c-sections - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-22-2013, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am new here. I mostly stick to my local boards, but I have some issues I can't get past and am looking for help how to do that. I have a lot of jealousy and anger about my births. So I will try to make it brief.

I was induced for my first birth which ended up in a c-section. My OB told me that I would never be able to give birth vaginally to a baby unless they were under 6 pounds. My first was 8 pounds.

I spent years studying, going to ICAN meetings, learning about ways to deal with pain (I had that ice pick in the hip pain, I think I learned later that was due to baby position) When I got pregnant the second time, I hired a doula, went to midwives, studied hypnobabies, did yoga, did exercises to turn the baby, saw a chiropractor to make sure the baby was in correct position starting at 7 weeks. I studied birth plans. I even left my midwife practice at 37 weeks because they told me at 40 weeks I would be schedule for a repeat c-section no matter what (they just realized I was 40 and this was a huge risk to them) I ended up finding a new midwife practice that could take me, and I went into natural labor at 39 weeks.

So to make a long story short, I ended up with a repeat c-section. The midwife at one point asked me if I was ever in a car accident or fell off a horse, she asked during labor. I had no idea what she was getting at, but she basically said my pelvis felt like it was "crushed" at some point. She said it didn't feel normal. And no I was never in an accident or anything. My second baby was 6 pounds 6 ounces (so my first ob was right? how is that possible?)