Advice for child in abusive relationship at school - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 12-02-2003, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello all,

I am new to the Mothering forums and have been reading Mothering for 7 years.

My 6 year old is in her first year of elementary school (grade one) at a Montessori school in Canada. This is her 3rd year at this school. She is a very gentle child, takes her time at getting used to things, observes intently, is often considered by others to be "shy".

This is her 3rd year with a friend which she had become "inseparable" with at school. She loves this little girl and is always excited to play with her, the other little girl appears to feel the same way. The problem is, we recently found out (parent/teacher interviews) that sometimes her friend is not so nice to her and will push her or yank her arm. Her teacher was concerned and wanted me to make sure talk to my daughter about sticking up for herself and making sure she makes it known she does not want to be pushed or yanked. She also talked to the other girl's mother about her behaviour.

After the interview I spent time talking to my daughter and discovered that every day my daughter's friend pushers her, pulls her, pulls out pieces of her hair, and pinches her. I had a meeting with my daughter's teacher about this and she was not happy about it. She talked to the other little girl explaining this behaviour was not acceptable and separated them for the day, getting them to choose another child to play with for the day. She also suggested I cancel an upcoming play date with the child until this behaviour stopped. She again mentioned I needed to talk to my daughter about "standing up for herself". The teacher also implemented a "no touching" rule for the class. My daughter did tell me that she tells her friend, "please don't do that", or "no".