Kindy moms--is it really like this? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-24-2009, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My colleague was telling me about her daughter's experience at a well-respected public kindergarten in an middle community:

Kid is young for her age, but also intellectually advanced and has done most of the stuff that they're doing. Kid tends to get distracted and go off in her own little world often, and isn't usually happy going along with what the teacher has them doing. (Evidently, the teacher thinks she's stubborn and uncooperative, but as a teacher myself, I have to wonder if there's any differentiation going on.)

Anyway, what I'm really curious about is to learn how common the teacher's "feedback" system is. Basically, all the kids have a colored card posted in a public place at the beginning of the day. They start with green. One infraction brings it to yellow, the next to orange and the next to red. Whatever card they have at the end of the day is sent home. There's no opportunity to work your way back up the ladder: once you're at yellow, you can't work extra hard to become green again.

This seems horrible to me, and I'm kind of upset if this is the norm, since I'll be sending my own DD off to Kindy a year from September.

Thoughts?

Stacey teaching teens to read & write... Daddy plays ska, DD1 (7/05) loves trees & princesses, & DD2 (3/10) loves mommy-milk! Please get your kids tested for lead.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-24-2009, 08:26 PM

I think the system is really common. Some teachers allow you to work your way back to green and others do not.
Old 03-24-2009, 08:36 PM

VERY common.

Some schools and districts require it school or district-wide.

-Angela
Old 03-24-2009, 08:40 PM

Quoted: 9 Post(s)