Head Start? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-22-2010, 12:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My DS1 is 3 and enrolled in headstart preschool for the fall, and I'm just curious what everyones general opinion of headstart programs is?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2010, 12:28 PM

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
I don't have personal experience. We had a friend whose eldest did headstart as was really happy with them.

Married mom of two, DD 17 and DS 13.
Old 06-25-2010, 09:20 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Head Start programs follow national Performance Standards (as mandated by Congress) but are all locally operated and operate in vastly different ways and can follow a variety of different curriculums. I'm a formers HS teacher, Education Coordinator, current and former HS (and EHS) parent and Policy Council Chairperson (commitee of parents and community members who work with the agency director to help shape and guide the program.) I absolutely LOVE the program where I used to work and the schools my children attended.

If you have any more questions (now or in the future,) please feel free to PM me. My soon-to-be adopted daughter starts preschool Head Start in the fall, too. She's just completing a year in Early Head Start (for children birth to age three.)
Old 07-01-2010, 12:53 AM

Apparently, it is vastly different in different areas, as the pp said.
In my area, it's..pretty awful.

CPST
Old 07-01-2010, 04:19 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
My DS1 attended an integrated HS program for 2.5 years. I also worked as a classroom assistant in a preschool room in our district. (My room was specifically only children on IEP, which I think is now non-existent, they are all integrated like the one DS attended. But all the preschool classrooms in our district go by HS standards and curriculum.)

As a parent