Mothering Forum banner

Child Hates School...at a loss.

2K views 23 replies 18 participants last post by  meemee 
#1 ·
Title about sums it up. My daughter is 5 and in public kindergarten. She hates it. She progressed from throwing tantrums about going to physically making herself ill about going. One day she was really late because as we approached the school she got so upset about having to go in she threw up all over herself, and no, she was not actually sick with a bug or something. We had to go all the way home, change her, clean the car, etc.

She's the youngest in her class but academically she's at or above the other kids. She's bored. She's asking for a cell phone so she can call me at lunch time. I go have lunch with her when I can but sometimes I can't get there because of work obligations.

I can't afford private school right now and I'm a full time professor mama. I've told her teacher what's up and she's done what she can. The school counselor is involved. The assistant principal is involved. The gifted coordinator is involved. Regardless, my child hates school and is very sad and miserable. I hate to see her this way. And now I'm hearing that my sweet gentle child who got along with everyone for 2 years in her preschool can't get along with kids in her class.

Suggestions, ideas, anything? Thanks, mamas
greensad.gif

See less See more
#2 ·
Here is the short version:

I don't think any child should be in an ongoing state of misery due to any educational arrangement.

here are your options:

-work with your DD and the school to make it a better place for her - but put some serious timelines around improvement. Misery is a hard thing to deal for very long. Be very upfront with the school about how serious this all is.

-change schools

-if she is gifted and bored, would a grade skip help?