I am livid - please tell me if I am overreacting - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 02-16-2011, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I hear a lot of complaints from my kids about the "lunch ladies," who are basically the yard duty ladies who supervise lunch by strolling around the tables barking at kids to sit still and be quiet.  (They don't actually serve lunch - the parent volunteers do that.)   It's all the typical power trip stuff that I find irritating but is so common in schools.  As one of the parents who serves lunch sometimes, I have heard the lunch lady be very rude to kids on several different occasions, and then turn around and be as sweet as pie to us.  I'm new to the school (to school in general, as a former homeschooler) and none of the other parents seemed upset, so I kind of let it go, although there was an incident in particular with a kid I didn't know that I really thought was out of line.  But, I am hypersensitive to the complete lack of respect adults tend to show to kids in general, and I had already complained about a few other things.

Today, my first grader (6.5yo) tells me that he had been picking his nose at the lunch table (this is an ongoing habit of his that we are trying to work on), and when he raised his hand to ask to be excused, the lunch lady said "Yes nose picker?"  Ds2 happened to think it was hilarious when he relayed the story to me.  In fact, his lead up to telling me what happened was:  "Mom, today at school I picked my nose and there was someone there who didn't mind!" since I'm always telling him that other people find it gross.

I am soooooo angry that she would call him a name in front of the entire class.  What the hell kind of adult does that?  I've been to see the Principal several times already about other things, but I am so angry I feel like this should be reported. 

Am I overreacting?  Is there something I'm missing?

#2 of 15 Old 02-16-2011, 08:41 PM