What type of school for your kids and why? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-25-2011, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)

I have plenty of time to figure this out, as I only have a toddler, but I am a researcher. I thought I'd start by asking you guys what type of schooling you have chosen for your children and what led you to that decision. I know things will vary based on location, child, parent, etc. But there's so much more than public vs. private, which is really all I've been exposed to. I thought this would be a good "starting off' point for research. Also, if this has been discussed before, feel free to point me in the direction of other threads. Thanks.

"Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect." ~Mark Twain

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2011, 02:08 PM

Location: Where creepy facebook-featured threads can't find me
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Our kids attend a part-time Reggio preschool and it is wonderful. Almost exactly what I think preschool should be. Lovely garden and playground, beautiful materials, healthy organic snack, wonderful art. Very, very expensive.

We're founding families at a very good purblic charter school near us with an urban garden, farmer's market lunch program, very low student-teacher ratio, and the expectation that founding families contribute about $3000 a year every year prior to enrollment and during enrollment. Minimum. This makes up for the lousy/pathetic/unsustainable funding provided for the state.

I don't even believe in charter schools in theory, my mom recently retired as an awesome teacher and an awesome school district. But the schools in Los Angeles are so bad I would never send my kid to one of them, we aren't religious, good private school is $25K +, and we probably wouldn't get in. This is really our only choice. I'd prefer a plain old local public school.