DD's first grade teacher assistant pulled out her "not so wiggly" tooth without permission!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 03-07-2011, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Let me start by saying that I also work at my daughter's public elementary school. I am a TA for first grade in the classrooms across from her first grade room. I like the school we're at, never had any problems, other than her teacher gives waaaaaay too much seatwork (I am a Montessori teacher at heart.) and dd complains of being bored...

With that being said, I am ALWAYS around, and like to keep a watchful eye on what's going on. So, this morning dd came into my classroom smiling and holding a tissue in her mouth. I asked her if her tooth had come out and she said that Mrs. X had pulled it. Now, this tooth was just SOMEWHAT wiggly. Not even to the point that I thought it was close to being ready to come out. I asked her if it hur when it came out, she said no and about that time Mrs. X came in and started telling me that the tooth didn't want to come out but she pulled really hard and it popped really loud.

So, the more I thought about it, the more it bothered me. I am a TA as well but would NEVER, EVER  think about pulling out a child's tooth. I worry about how long it will take for another one to come in (there isn't a permanant one in sight) and if she could have possibly done damage...

I am not an overbearing/worrying mom. Quite the opposite, very laid back and lax so should I be upset that she did this without my permission or should I let it go? I did think about talking to her but being that I work along side of her, don't really want to ruffle any feathers... I need advice!

Stay at home mom to: Finley Linnea 7-9-04 and Maxton Cramer 3-28-08 and lovin' my artist hubby!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 21 Old 03-07-2011, 04:50 PM