Separating Boys and Girls in 5th Grade - Mothering Forums
View Poll Results: Would You Enroll Your Child In a Boy/Girl Only Classroom?
Yes 11 36.67%
No 13 43.33%
Maybe/Not Sure 6 20.00%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 04-19-2011, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So my nephew will be in 5th grade next year and has the opportunity to be in an all boy classroom (the elementary school is piloting this). Obviously boys and girls learn differently and in general have different educational needs and abilities. As a former teacher, I just lumped boy and girl needs together: boys AND girls got breaks to reflect/talk, opened ended projects/assignments and structured ones, activities that were hands on/active, writing/drawing choices for responses, etc.

I'm assuming the school would hone in on which of those above differences specifically works for the genders based on research. Differences that the school listed would be in light levels, response assignments, breaks, etc. DN will still be in the general elementary school, participating in normal related arts, lunch, and recess.

My sister and BIL are looking in to this but I was wondering what all you thought about this! 

Me: lady.gif Sarah, married to: geek.gif J, mommy to: happytears.gif C (8/10) and rolleyes.gif E (11/12)

#2 of 22 Old 04-19-2011, 01:26 PM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)