working with my 3.5 yo son present...i am a play school teacher - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-23-2011, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

am a teacher (more like an assistant as its in the woman's home & she pretty much leads and directs us) in a play based pretty darn awesome play school...most of it is based on bev bos' ways.

here is my dilemma, if you will...  but first, a bit about me...

i am ALSO a solo parenting very AP mama. i have to work. i cannot have a play school for preschool agers in my home as it just won't work out right now w/ landlord, etc. but, i've made it work and found my place in probably the coolest, "closest to to what i'm about" preschool around town.  phew.

so the dilemma is that my new job as of a month has my heart hurting when my boss tells me how to parent my son, who is there w/ me some days. she tells me and him what to do. if he whines or asks for me to have hugs or to be w/ me, even in same area, out or in, she more often than not separates us or makes him use  words to communicate what he wants/needs, despite my already knowing 'his language'. he doesn't whine and have lack of communication word-wise w/ anyone else, really. its a mother/kid thang. so this doesn't bug me.   it is a mixed age place so it isn't like i have to be w/ the older kids and not his age...  

boss says it is bothering the other kids. they don't say that but this is what she says it does. that it can be confusing for them if he is whining and 'getting his way' so to speak and they can't get away w/ that.

so. wht to do. it only pisses him off and stresses us both out to no end when she won't let me even comfort or touch him when he is feeling needy of me. he's only a little guy. we are very close. i can easily multi task and be there for the other children, no prob. i've been working w/ kids since i can remember (i'm 40 now) and do it well, even w/ my own kid on hip or in tow.