Standardized test scores - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 31 Old 07-06-2011, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)

At your child's school, do parents automatically receive printed notices of their children's standardized test scores? When I was a public school student, parents received a printout from whatever company generated the tests. My son took standardized tests this year and we did not get a copy of a parent's report on the scores. Another mother in my son's class and I have been asking to see such results from the school, and have encountered a lot of weirdness. School is over and I still don't have scores in my hot little hand. I'm just curious about whether other school systems do this. 

(To clarify: our school has a policy in writing that they DO give parents access to standardized test scores as part of compliance with a state law that mandates parents have access to their children's temporary record/transcript. No one has said to us that we can't have the scores. They just...haven't given us the scores!) 

Divorced mom of one awesome boy born 2-3-2003.
#2 of 31 Old 07-06-2011, 01:20 PM

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Yes, they are mailed to us late August. One year we didn't get them and I just stopped by the office and they looked them up on the computer. I do know it's handled differently from state to state but that's how it's been for us over the years.

Married mom of two, DD 17 and DS 13.
#3 of 31 Old 07-06-2011, 01:57 PM

Quoted: 82 Post(s)
In our state, they aren't available until fall. They are mailed to houses. The report had a lot of information about our child, their school, the district, and the state average.

Schools tend to have a skelton staff in summer, and they may not have the results yet anyway.

but everything has pros and cons  shrug.gif

#4 of 31 Old 07-06-2011, 02:11 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)